Curious and Curiouser – The Personality Test

I was scrolling through blog posts the other day, when I came across a blog written by Komoberi called “I am “sensitive and mysterious”“. It instantly drew me in, so I began to read it. She explained about a personality test she had taken, and found interesting and accurate. A chord was instantly struck in my mind. What personality do I have? Curious and curiouser!

So here I am today, giving the test a go in optimism and curiosity. I thought I’d be as accurate as possibly to myself though. First describing what personality I feel is associated with me before I begin the test, and then seeing the comparison afterwards. The website is called 16personalities and is free to take with no signup required. So you can’t complain about any unwanted hassle! According to the website, it is ‘freakishly accurate’ and can tell me ‘who I am and why I do the things the way I do’. They really are setting a high standard for themselves aren’t they, no pressure or anything. There are sixteen different specific personalities broken up into four genres – Analysts, Diplomats, Sentinels and Explorers. Straight off the bat and down the ball park, I’m a Diplomat. First thought that came into my mind after reading about the different personality types, Diplomat. They are the sensitive, emotional, idea thinking, imaginative guys who sometimes struggle with shyness and making difficult decisions. Sounds roughly like me, lets go with it. To be more specific, Diplomats is broken into four sub-personalities. The one catching my eye being ‘Advocate’. Lets see what the experts have to say for themselves…

personalitit

Surprise. My assuredness has turned to unsureness. According to the test, I’m a Mediator. I was right about being a Diplomat, that was never in doubt in my mind. As for the Advocate presumption, I was wrong. Surprise! I guess things that seem so sure are sometimes not. 16personalities explains that a Mediators are

… true idealists, always looking for the hint of good in even the worst of people and events, searching for ways to make things better. While they may be perceived as calm, reserved, or even shy, Mediators have an inner flame and passion that can truly shine. Comprising just 4% of the population, the risk of feeling misunderstood is unfortunately high for the Mediator personality type – but when they find like-minded people to spend their time with, the harmony they feel will be a fountain of joy and inspiration.

After calming my racing emotions and thoughts, I have realised that maybe I do have a bit of Mediator in me. It’s funny how you can tell yourself that you are 100% something, only to feel emotionally confused when something tells you differently. I have to admit, when I saw MEDIATOR pop up on my screen, my smile turned to intense overthinking. Why? Simply because it wasn’t what I expected. Funny. I wonder if that reaction was calculated into this test, if only they knew! All jokes aside, I have reassured myself, upon reading the full result script, that I do actually have a lot in common with Mediator. Maybe it’s a wake up call, a realisation as such. On the bright side, I’m in good company. I was greeted to a list of well known Mediators. If I turn out like any of these people in the future I’ll be a happy man!

Mediator

To say the least, I’m glad I took the test. Not only was it a bit of an eye-opener but extremely fun too. Accurate or not, I would genuinely advise people to take the test. You may be pleasantly surprised. If I was to give any tips, answer every question as honest as you possibly can. Give yourself every opportunity to receive accurate results. I know it’s hard to answer question based on your emotions and traits but give it a go. They are experts after all, or so they say!

14 thoughts on “Curious and Curiouser – The Personality Test

  1. I just took this, and got ENTJ PERSONALITY (“THE COMMANDER”) and had to laugh at this comment, “The underlying thought running through the ENTJ mind might be something like “I don’t care if you call me an insensitive b*****d, as long as I remain an efficient b*****d”.” The whole profile is kinda like me, actually. Not in it’s extremes, but certainly in the I’ll accept the challenge. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I’m glad you took it, and enjoyed it! I wasn’t expecting a comment like that, interesting choice of words! Yeah I got broad similarities to my personality too, but it is still interesting to see what it says. No problem, thanks for reading 👍🏻

      Like

      1. Yeah, I guess you have to have a strong and determined personality to be a leader! Exactly. It wouldn’t be much of a world if everyone was the same haha.

        Like

  2. Ha ha I’m INFP turbulent too! As well as being highly sensitive and an empath that absorbs emotions like a kid! I was so excited to tell you this, that I’m still in the process of reading this entire post on my mobile. Great to see another one ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

