Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

As you’re all probably aware by now, I’ve been employed. Yes, I have secured that much sought after job. At times, it was looking like a job offer was not going to be put up on the table. I stayed patient, I persevered and now I’ve been rewarded. Rewarded with not only a job, but an enhanced set of skills that will stay with me for the rest of my life. Good things really do come to those who wait! 

Remember when I talked about losing my previous job through college commitments? Well, funnily enough that’s where I will be returning to work.


 Just a quick recap. I had a job for roughly a year, in my local city, working on the tills and shop floor in a discount store. This was being juggled with my college life. Things were great. Unfortunately, I had to leave this job through college commitments. And by commitments I mean jetting off to sunny Barcelona for six months! I couldn’t complain,only that a promise was broken upon my return home. A promise of a job. Which has now been returned. So, eventhough I’ve had to wait a couple of months, that promise has been unbroken and I’m grateful. Loosing the job in the first place wasn’t easy. In my mind I had been sworn a sacred pinky promise – something that should never be broken – eventhough technically it was just words from the mouth of my manager. We didn’t actually pinky promise, just to clarify, but that’s how it felt after I received the bad news! So the bridges have been rebuilt in a way. The job search was grim but they sprinkled a bit of light on my unfortunate situation and offered me a job. RE-HIRED! SUCCESSFUL! 

I’m due to start back midway through next week and it should be straightforward. I’m fully trained and know the place inside out, so it will be easy get to grips with it all. Like I’d never left in the first place. It’s not the biggest shop either, and getting used to everything won’t take long. The majority of staff seem to still be there also. It’s literally exactly how I left it. The only difference is that it’s now a €1.50 shop instead of €1.49. To be honest, I’ve no idea why it was €1.49 in the first place, that’s just cruel! Do people really want to be handed back one cent every time they buy something?  I think not. To make matters worse, the tills never had one or two cents anyway. A bank shortage apparently. This meant that customers were either short changed or just given needless amounts of coins to add up the total. I’m fully sure the first part was illegal but it’s not a problem anymore, so that can be sweeped under the rug!  Luckily for the customers, and everyone really, one and two cents are no long in Ireland. So they were forced to push the price up to €1.50. Praise the Lord! 

Take away that, it is a relatively nice place to work. It’s in a rough area so the customers can be a handful at times, but this adds hugely to the comical factor in the store! The staff are nice and it’s money at the end of the day. It’s also going to cure my boredom. No more staring at blank walls! I also get to wear a fancy name tag. It makes me feel official! 


Overall, I’m excited to start back and get on the right road again. Things are looking up! No matter how bad a situation seems, remember that once you hit the bottom the only way is up. Stay positive and motivate yourself each and every day. Set a path in your life and follow it. There’s going to be bumps on the road but enjoy the ride. Keep moving forward and never look back! 

The area I work in is not the nicest and the citizens are intriguing to say the least. Have you any funny stories, in relation to customers, in your workplace? I’m in the mood for a laugh, so let me know in the comments below! 

Check me out on Facebook here and be sure to give it a like if you enjoy my writing ~~ Build a Dean

41 thoughts on “Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

  1. Dean !!
    I’m so happy for you ! 🙂 I’m so glad that you’re motivated and back on track.
    I really liked the little quote you left in the end : ” There’s going to be bumps on the road but enjoy the ride. Keep moving forward and never look back! ”

    Enjoy the journey 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I must also offer my congratulations as well! I’m a bit of a layabout and a Jack of all trades, so I never stay in one job for too terribly long; ergo, you’re doing better than me. 🙂

    Like

  3. Congrats on getting your job back. At least you made an effort to get it back. When I was in college,I quit my job, and didnt bother to work again; until my mom made me. Staying positive is definitely a key to being succesful in life.
    Im a firm believer in the universal law of karma.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post, I feel the same as you. I just graduated in May with college diploma in IT and all my friends got a job earlier than me in the outskirts of the city. I got a job offer early but the problem was that I would have to leave my family, an environment where i prosper the most. Still no job until late August, I was feeling down because i had no work. You know what, I never stopped applying and eventually I got a job and the best thing is that this tech company’s culture and environment is empowering. I really love it. Patience was key for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot! Still, congrats on the degree! That’s an achievement in itself 🙂 That’s really nice to hear. I’m glad you took that approach and it all worked out in the end which is the main thing. I know exactly how you feel, so I can relate so much to this. Well done 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, unfortunately my situation has changed. It was still great to get the job though 🙂 At Least he was nice, you would have been in for a tough time otherwise! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Like

  5. Hi dean, just came across your blog. Finally meeting someone from. Ireland as well on this. 😊I work in a dealz too in Dublin. It can get a little stressful at time during seasonal periods doesn’t it!! Loving your blog post. Keep up the good job. Can’t wait to read more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, it’s good to come across another blogger from Ireland. I haven’t seen all that many 🙂 So stressful, I’m glad it’s going to die down for a bit now! The past week has been crazy. Thank you. I’ll be sure to keep in touch!

      Like

Leave a Reply

