Wow, I wasn’t Expecting That.

I’m a big lover of expecting the unexpected, I’ve made that fairly apparent at this stage! There’s a sort of underlying pleasure towards not expecting something to happen or occur. I say pleasure in this regard, well because I’ve only been accustomed to this feeling when experiencing a moment of non-expectation. It’s why I’m such a big advocate of seeking for the unexpected. However, today was very different. Let me explain.

Last week, I was giving great news all around. News of success. News of happiness. A step in the right direction. I had received a long awaited job offer, which I accepted quicker than Usain Bolt can win an Olympic 100m race. My pre-season athletics training was due to begin, something I had waited eagerly for and it was looking like my college problem was all but sorted. Everything that could have gone right, inevitably went in that very direction.Β I was staying in Ireland with everything after falling into place perfectly, apart from college accommodation which was seeming impossible to find. But that would have come in time! The definition of perfect was so closely related to my situation, until I got an email. An email that changed everything.

Oh, this email! How I wish I never recieved, saw or read it. The sheer elation I was feeling prior to this email was quickly changed to sheer disbelief and utter shock. Disbelief that the college was forcing me to go to Spain again. If I didn’t go, I would fall the year and have to repeat.They had decided to decline my appeal, out of nowhere really, only telling me a few days before Erasmus was due to start. The option to wait again for a reappeal was there, but in reality the chances of me getting this turned around were slim. To make matters worse, they told me that the majority of people who ask for an exemption, get it. Yet, they didn’t give it to me? Am I being Punk’d? Ashton Kutcher, wherever you’re hiding, please come out now!

4451251256_52b3ded024_o
Photo Credit: Flickr

Maybe it’s one of those situations where they have to pick a few people, no matter what their situation is, to decline because it makes their operation look more appropriate and professional. As opposed to literally everyone getting an exemption. Even if that was the case, why did they have to choose me! Especially when everything was after falling on a scrumptious plate for me. I genuinely thought my appeal was pretty decent, as far as the previous appeals I’ve heard of go. I supported my letters with documentation. Documentation from a professor in the actual college, letters from my work place, and yet the college decided to look past that all and still decline me.

I am a very positive person and always try to keep myself motivated, but it is times like these that I find it hard to break through that sadness barrier. Although, this is one of those heat of the moment situations, so I’m obviously going to be sad and disappointed. Once I have a day or two to cool down, I’ll be back into a positive mindframe. Looking for the best in the situation I’ve been handed. As ive said before, there are going to be bumps on the road. This is one of them. Is it going to stop me from driving forward? No. Is it a sucker punch? Yes.The best thing I can do right now is calm myself, and start to look at my options. I’m not one for panicking!

The worst part of this all is having to tell my friends, training group and workplace of my unfortunate situation. I was planning to get college accommodation with my friends. That’s over. Training was starting monday, with my goals and schedule set out for me. That’s over. I was about to begin work after finally getting a job. That’s over. I know they will all accept the situation I have been put in, but it doesn’t make it any easier. The job situation is the worst part by far. As you know, I had worked there before, and the manager was very kind to rehire me. He didn’t have to do that but he did. Now, I have to tell him I won’t be able to work. It’s not fair on him but it’s something I have to man up and talk about with him. I know he will accept my situation but that’s not the point.

6473856011_55b0bfd740_o
Photo Credit: Flickr

So, the flight has been booked. Tomorrow I’m heading off to Tarragona for half a year. It’s not giving me a lot of time to prepare, but I have no option but to fly over tomorrow.Orientation is due to commence tomorrow and with college starting on Monday, I’ll need a few days to get settled in. As I write this post, I’m beginning to look at the positives. At the end of the day, I’m going to be living in sunny Spain again. I won’t have the training group I want at home, but I’m sure I’ll find another group here in Tarragona that train well. The job situation might actually be a lot easier to work out here also, seeing as I have endless amounts of experience teaching English. It’s not ideal but I need to make it work. I mean it will be a good experience, but with everything after falling into place at home it makes it that little bit harder to accept.

All I can say is, Onwards and Upwards!

Have you ever had a situation in your life that looked certain, but then changed all of a sudden? I’mΒ intriguedΒ to find out! Let me know in the comments below!

Make sure to check me out on Facebook and hit that like but if you enjoyed! ~~~ Build a Dean

 

47 thoughts on “Wow, I wasn’t Expecting That.

  1. Oh! I can almost feel this as I know that you were feeling that things were on a certain path. I know it sounds trite and difficult to see right now but I bet you in a few months time there might be a reason why you needed to be exactly where you are, when you are. Still, I know that may not be very comforting at the moment!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, it’s not easier to take but I have to keep my head up and look for the positives. Exactly, each path taken opens up two or three new ones. I’m not in the best mood but thanks for your comment. It was comforting πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I can imagine your predicament. I can imagine the whirl wind you are caught up in. Its easy to real off trite advice and cliches, but what you now see as bad news might end up as good news. But you will not know that for a couple of months are so. Embrace fate, take a leap of faith and “There will be answer, let it be, let be”. Good luck. :0)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still trying to come to terms with it myself. I agree, I’m sure in a few months time things will have changed. I’ll stay positive as always and see where things take me! That Beatle’s reference alone has made me smile, thank you πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, life sure has a way to try to kick us to the ground sometimes! I’m sorry for the twist of events you have to go through, and on such short notice… I hope you’ll make the most out of it, and of course will keep us posted πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, it loves to pick the worst times possible to do it also! I’m sure the experience will be great and after a few days of calmness I think my mind will settle a bit. Thank you and I will of course πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Spain is a great place to stay,and 6 months passes fast. I understand it wasn’t your final goal, but I’m sure the experience will hide wonderful surprises for you, and I wish you all the best! When I first came to Spain it was a sudden choice that changed all my personal and professional life forever. I did it out of need in a way, but the outcome was brightest than I would ever imagined. I’m sure it will happen to you too, if not by chance, because the more I read you, the more I sense that fine quality of people able to change their destiny. If I’m passing trough Terragona in the next months I’ll write to you! πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s true, I was actually living in Barcelona for the past 6 months and it was lovely. I’m sure Tarragona will be nice too. Thanks so much, I really appreciate that comment πŸ™‚ I’m glad it worked out for you, it’s really admirable that you took that decision in your life. Even better that it worked out perfectly for you. Do please, I’d be glad to see you πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Oh no! Sorry to hear you’ve been thrown off track but by the tone of your post and your past blogs I know you’ll adopt the “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade” attitude.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah that’s exactly what my approach will be! There’s no point in dwelling on the past, especially when it’s a bad memory. Just need to stay positive and look for the best! Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  6. I’m so sorry to hear this. It’s worse when you had just got everything sorted out.
    I know you will cope with the challenge, but just wish you didn’t have to! I do admire your positive character, and it will see you through this latest obstacle. After all, we grow more by overcoming adversity.
    Good Luck Dean. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. “The best laid plans o’ mice and men…” (Apologies to Burns)

    That has happened to me several times in my life, mainly as a kid. We moved a lot growing up and me and my sisters never really had friends as a result.

    I used to get really upset about it, but after a while I realised there wasn’t anything I could to change it, so why expend the energy getting upset about it? Like yourself, I just shrug my shoulders and adapt as best as possible.

    I am sorry to hear about the abrupt change, but I know you’ll continue going to the best of your ability. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure he’d accept that apology, maybe! Sorry to hear. I like the way you accepted the change and looked for the positives. That’s very admirable. I know it must not have been easy but I’m glad you found that outlook. I sure will, I’m looking forward to the experience. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Dean, I can relate so much to where you are now and that feeling you finally have all your ducks lined up and then something comes along and wipes them all out. My medical condition fluctuates a lot and so it’s hard to predict how I’ll be and whether I’ll be able to do something. I had to stop work two years ago and in the past, this would’ve killed me. However, now it doesn’t bother me. Indeed, I feel liberated in a way. Perhaps, it’s all too hard at the moment.
    What I have found is confirmation of that old adage…one door closes and another one opens. It feels awful at the time but quite often it all makes sense in retrospect.
    If you watch the Paralympics, you’ll here loads of stories of athletes who’s lives received a serious setback but they turned a setback into a positive.
    All the best to you!
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear you can relate to me. It’s always nice to know that someone else has experienced the feeling too! Sorry to hear about the condition, but I love that you accepted the change and learned to prosper in it! Exactly, life is a never ending cycle of opportunity. I’m a big fan of athletics, so the Paralympics is something I love to watch. I admire the stories of the athletes. Thank you for this comment, it was wonderful!

      Like

    1. I totally agree, situations change so much and so quickly that it’s impossible to tell what the future holds. I think they mould us though but sometimes it’s hard to know how to handle a certain situation.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for this comment, it was lovely to read! I agree with everything you said, it’s so true. It’s all about staying positive and waiting for a deserved opportunity to arise. I’m glad you got back up and I will read that blog post now πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was living in Barcelona for six months before and it was extremely enjoyable. An experience I’ll never forget. Yes, you will never find yourself stuck for things to do there!

        Like

Leave a Reply

