Gym Progression #1

As I’m relatively new to the gyming world, I felt it would be a good idea to track my progression through the blog. As you are all aware, athletics is a big passion of mine. So the whole gym side of things comes hand in hand. This project was meant to start a while back but certain circumstances have led me to postpone it until now.

It has to be taken into account that I’m not technically allowed to do bodybuilding type workouts, as this would hinder my speed. Unfortunately, no glamour muscles will be worked on! My training gym wise is very much tailored for speed and power as opposed to gaining copious amounts of size. All my movements are fast and incorporate as much strength as possible in relation to speed. Taking this into account, the more weight I gradually lift will generally mean putting on a reasonable amount of muscle mass. So, although I’m not a bodybuilder my body will change with the increased muscle I will hopefully put on. This progression will be tracked through this section of the blog through photos.

I currently have two gym sessions a week, plus a separate circuit session which I will write about in the coming weeks. Both gym sessions will be recorded each week and I will be writing my progression through this section of the blog. In time, videos will be incorporated and photos of my workout. This will allow you to live the progression with me and see how I develop through the blocks each month.

Currently, I’m on week 12 of my 10-14 week block of pre-season training. The difference from week 1 to now has been drastic. The whole concept of ‘noobie gains’ has really hit the front and I’ve gained strength throughout my whole body, particularly my legs. An example of this can be seen in my weighted hip lifts. Week 1-4 saw me lifting between 40-60kg for 6-8 reps. Currently, I’m lifting 100-110kg for 6-8 reps. All this has been achieved through progressive overloading. Each week, the weight has been increased a little bit at a time – usually averaging a 5kg increase – depending on the exercise and how I am feeling. Obviously, the chance of a 5kg increase each week will slowly decrease as my weight increases on each exercise, but for now I’m happy to keep progressing up until I find myself levelling off. Once this occurs, I will re-evaluate my training and look to stay consistent and increase my strength again over longer periods of time.

Week 12 Stats:

Weight – 67.8kg

Weighted Hips Lifts – 8×3 for 110, 115, 115 kg

Barbell Step Up – 8,8,6 reps for 40, 45,47.5 kg

Walking Lunge (Dumbells) – 8, 8, 6 reps for 17.5 kg

RDL (Romanian Dead Lift) – 10×3 for 40 kg

Jammer Press – 8×3 for 25 kg

All other exercises completed were bodyweight exercises

18 thoughts on “Gym Progression #1

  1. I love this! Thanks for sharing. My husband and I work out nearly 5 days a week at a gym down the street. I’ve been struggling with back, neck, and shoulder issues for a while (Seeing my doctor in January for further analysis), so I’ve relegated myself to the treadmill. Al did give me a new FitBit for Christmas, and I can’t wait to use it to its full potential. He does more weightlifting and tries to target a certain muscle group on different days.

    Like

    1. Thank you Laura! It’s nice to know you have an interest in this section of my blog 🙂 Sorry to hear, I’ll be doing a bit of writing on rehab, mobility and flexibility in the near future so maybe that could be of interest to you! Lovely! You’ll be back in no time 🙂 That’s good, I’m glad you and your husband both mutually enjoy fitness
      !

      Like

  2. Hello,
    Pleasure to meet you and thank you for visiting my blog page and having a follow, I enjoyed reading this and look forward to reading more workouts you post in the future. Speed and power? so does this mean you are sprinter? or am I far off and need to reread everything? I am taking guesses without actually having read your about page. Although I will read it, I just wanted to take a small guess along the way!

    Shay-lon

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! yay! I guess that means I know a little something, we have something in common then! I was a runner as well 🙂 400m is no joke, it is a hard run, because even though it is a sprint, it also is about pacing your strides.. .. I cannot wait to hear more about it!

        Shay-lon

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly, that’s already a good start! So hard, I’ve only moved up to it this season and it’s very tough. I love it though. New post up now if you want to read 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. What were you doing previous to the 400m?
        I started off in distance running, like the mile for like 2 – 3 years (hated it) so then I moved up to the mid distance (800m) and didn’t hate it but didn’t love it.. at the time. I then did the 400m and 200m and loved it. The 400m I struggled with because I had the speed but was horrible at pacing myself at times and pacing is VERY important during that event, or you will be playing catching up.. and sometimes catching up can be too late.
        I will have a look, thank you for the notice.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. 100/200m. Distance running is a whole different story! You’ve got a lot of experience in different events. That’s good. So important, it’s very technically and you have to be so smart when running the race! It’s not easy. No problem, thank you for reading 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s really good to hear.I’m glad you’re keeping active and healthy! Morning walks are a good way to walk yourself up and feel fresh throughout the day 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

