Running off the Christmas Period

The day had arrived! That gruesomely tough first session back over the christmas period. A session where you realise eating all that turkey, ham, desserts, sweets and fizzy drinks galore was a great bad idea. Although I knew this session wasn’t going to be pleasant, I didn’t actually realise how unpleasant it was going to be. Before the session began, I was feeling generally good and didn’t have any problems going into it. That was until I actually started running of course!
Generally, I am a 400m runner so my sessions are usually tailored to longer distances. Due to the fact that it was Christmas time, all the 400m runners had returned home. This meant dropping down to the 100/200m sprinters group. I didn’t want to run alone after all! The only problem was that I now had to run at a faster pace than I normally would when doing the longer runs. Pure speed. Killer speed!
We were torn between two session – 4 x 2 x 150 or 100 – 150 – 200 – 150 – 100.
As a group, we decided to go for the later. This technically should have suited me better as it was a relatively longer distance session. Nothing compared to the 300, 400 and 500m runs but I wasn’t complaining. Do you know when you look at something and you think it’s going to be fine, until you actually do it and find out it’s deceivingly difficult. This was the definition of that. So deceivingly hard! I thought I would have been ok until maybe halfway through the session but after the first run I was feeling so tired. Christmas really does take a toll on your body. Once it came to the 200m run, I was at the stage of struggling to finish. The pace was pretty fast and I found myself trying to keep up with fast sprinters, which I guess isn’t a bad thing. I’m looking to increase my speed but in the moment it was a killer.
The positive from the session was that I finished strong. I’m continually increasing my top end speed and it’s always good to see the benefits of the 400m sessions endurance wise, especially when you drop down to a faster session. The last 100m run was a great one for me. I finished really strong, even though I was wrecked from the other runs.
As my first competition of the season approaches, I’m feeling good. I can see a huge difference from where I was this time last year. I still have an awful lot to work on, particularly my speed, but I’m happy with the progress.

We also managed to get a mandatory after session selfie. Trying our best not to look like we’re about to pass out! I think we did pretty well.

15782575_10206455670625448_227166019_n
2 thoughts on “Running off the Christmas Period

Leave a Reply

